Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Bee's

Default Bee's

I just purchased a few hives to help pollunate our orange trees.... plus I'll be adding blueberry bushes soon...
    I'm a newbie and will take any advice
    Live Free or Die

You purchased hives with bees already established?
    Don't bring skittles to a gun fight.

Sure. It's easier to start that way but very costly. Wildcat. Did you purchase the nuc's plus the hives or full hives? What kind of hives, Langstroth or top bar? How many frames? What species of bees?
    Making good people helpless, doesn't make bad people harmless!

Got any photos?

Quote Originally Posted by flock6 View Post
    You purchased hives with bees already established?
    No sir.... hives then the bees..
    Live Free or Die

Quote Originally Posted by Camouflaged View Post
    Sure. It's easier to start that way but very costly. Wildcat. Did you purchase the nuc's plus the hives or full hives? What kind of hives, Langstroth or top bar? How many frames? What species of bees?
    Langstroth 8 frame..... the bees are from a family friend .... Italian bee's I believe
    Live Free or Die

Quote Originally Posted by Camouflaged View Post
    Got any photos?
    not yet....
    Live Free or Die

Oh excellent! That's the best way to get them, from a known source like that.
    That's what I raise, Italian bees. Very calm bees!
    So, what kind of help Are you looking for? Are you planning to raise them organically or will you be using chemical treatments?

Right now I only have one good piece of advice for you. When you get ready to re-queen a hive, I'd suggest Bee Weaver for a new queen. Their hive ps are resistant to varroa mite, wax moth and other parasites that will kill a hive. Just my suggestion. I re-queened my hives with their queens. I have no issues with those parasites what so ever.