Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cell phones were jammed yesterday

Default Cell phones were jammed yesterday

So, as some of you know, I am a school bus driver. Well, I got off work yesterday at 8am. As I am walking out of work, LOTS of police vehicles are going past. So I get in my car and start to head home, which happens to be in the same direction. Not even 1/4 of a mile down the road, the road is completely blocked off and I can't even count the number of police vehicles there.

After being stuck for 20 minutes, my car radio goes out. It was working one minute and the next there was nothing. No static, no noise at all on ANY radio station. I also notice that my phone is not working. When I tried to make a call, it would not connect to place the call. 10 minutes after this, they open up the road and I headed home. 10 minutes later my radio had still not started working again so I turned it completely off, then started it back up. This restored things and got the radio working again.

Later that day I find out that there had been a police chase. The person had driven 50 miles in 30 minutes all the while police were in pursuit. The person had crashed just a couple of blocks away from the schools and our transportation department and it was reported that there was a foot chase. Because of this, the schools were placed on lock down, including the transportation department(doors were closed and locked, lights were turned off, gates were closed, and buses were moved to block the gates).

A coworker was talking to me yesterday afternoon. She said that she had not left at her usual time and so she was stuck at the transportation department until the lock down was called off. This lady has several kids who attend the school district that we work for. She had tried to call them to let them know what was going on, but she too could not get a call to go through.