Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My chickens and other fowl flock

Default My chickens and other fowl flock

Renee, when do you expect to start on your adventure, now that you have the land?

I'm going to post some photos of my flock in a few minutes. Waiting for a few more to upload.
    Making good people helpless, doesn't make bad people harmless!

Right now I'm in the fund raising phase. I've been selling costumes on etsy, things are starting to tick up. I have one costume I have been working on for 5 years(you know, like a couple day's work every year or so) worth at least $800. I have 100 hours of hand embroidery and beading into it. The biggest hangup I had was drafting the pattern. I'm way too much of a stickler for accuracy when replicating a costume, so it is taking waaaaay too long to finish. I've also got several 3D prop commissions to finish for Halloween.

That being said, I only have to borrow my sister's pickup to start accumulating the free items, like the tarps, camper shells and pallets. I would have hoped to be goat-ready by the end of the month. Chickens, we will see. If I can't be chicken ready by the time people stop selling on craiglist for the winter, I'll just do the Spring chick order in March.

Starting out, this is the layout of our bird barns. We have 5 barns with 8 pens in each one and a huge sectioned flight pen for each barn.

Under construction in 2004

Hubby cutting the flnaks for the rafters

This is one barn before the flight pen was built to the South side.

Hubby feeding some Sex Link chicks in the flight pen. All our birds are tame.

One of our White Peafowl 1 1/2 years old. His name is Cloud.

2 of our Rio Grande Wild Turkey breeding pairs in the flight pen.

A breeding pair of our Millie Fleurs getting ready to go to a show.

Our Maylay Crested Fireback Roo breeder

More to come. Still up loading

Yeah, take it slow and steady. Its always a work in progress and it never ends.

Silver Phoenix breeding pair

Cameo Peacock