Thread: Need help with equipment selection!!! Please!

Default Need help with equipment selection!!! Please!

I am looking at running this radio http://www.ebay.com/itm/281134116133...84.m1423.l2649

We communicate in the 400-470 mhz bands mostly but occasionally we have to talk on 154.570. As of right now we're using Baofeng UV-5R handhelds and they work fine but I want to put a mobile setup in my truck and be able to talk on the given frequency range. What antenna setup should I use? Any other equipment recommendations besides different radio? I'm new to mobile setups. The furthest we ever talk is about 7 miles or so in dense wooded areas.

Would it be better to run a 1/4 wave antenna for the 2 meter and two 5/8 wave antennas for the 70cm? If so what would be needed and how would I switch between antennas with the dual band unit? I would also like to possibly setup the antennas on the headache rack of the truck nut off to the sides as the center is out of the option.

If you're getting 7 miles in thickly wooded terrain with the UV-5R you must have some special circumstances in your AO, maybe your in a giant bowl or some other unique feature that's allowing you to communicate over those distances with a 4 Watt HT, because 7 miles in thickly wooded terrain is certainly not the norm, especially for UHF (400 to 470 mhz on the UV-5R) because UHF has a much harder time penetrating foliage then VHF, even 2 meter (VHF) will not normally go 7 miles through woods with a 5 Watt HT without the aid of a repeater.

154.570 being a MURS frequency is limited to 2 watts, so technically that radio would be illegal, but it's not like the radio police will be kicking in your door if you use it.

As far as your antenna, I'm not entirely sure. Most dual band antennas are tuned to 2 meter/70CM. I don't know how well they will work that far out of band.

Have you considered getting your amateur radio license?