Thread: Alarm Systems, driveway sensors, etc Need to upgrade my shop security.

Default Alarm Systems, driveway sensors, etc Need to upgrade my shop security.

Howdy, I find myself getting more paranoid about having my shop burglarized than ever before. Especially after my neighbors (a few miles down the road) had one of their gates cut open and stuff stolen out of one of their outbuildings. I want to create a situation where i can sleep comfortably at night by making my shop as unatractive to theives as possible and making sure that if anyone does decide to try to break in that I'll know about it instantly. That's the goal. I make my living in my shop so other than the safety of my family my shop is my primary focus. We don't live in a dangerous area, it's very rural and not really any violent crimes but there's plenty of petty theft in the area. Around here ranchers and farmers leave ATVs, tools and equipment out and stuff disappears. My house is protected pretty well by my wife and I, we are both proficient at using our firearms and train at least 8 times a year with our local sherrif's dept. So this post isn't about personal safety or home invasion issues. It's about protecting an outbuilding from theft while we're away or asleep.

Now the challenges.

My shop is located about 120 yards from my current house (will eventually be around 1/2 mile once I build our new place).
    There's no cell reception at our location.
    There is only power at my house and at my shop, there is no power anywhere in between.
    I have a few storage containers located by my shop I'd also like to protect though not nearly as important as my shop.

I actually have a camera system, alarm system and a single floodlight installed currently but these are cheap chinese systems and although they do work I'd like to increase the quality of them all and also install some sort of driveway alarm so something will beep at my house anytime a vehicle enters my shop driveway.

So the questions