Page 1 of 60 123451151 ... LastLast

Thread: Jobless and living in my truck... (with Pics)

Default Jobless and living in my truck... (with Pics)

I have been waiting for sometime to share information I know. I have been living in my truck for about 6 months now due to a job loss in Ohio where I'm from, I have since moved to South Florida and am now living In my BOV, As an outdoor enthusiast this is easy for me to do, but I think this is a sign of things to come and seeing people living in tents and vehicles everywhere ( remember "hoover towns"?). The "mobile homelessness" is so bad that the cops dont even stop people from doing it anymore.
    I am a professional at what I do, I do not look homeless, I'm just an average guy that has fallen victim to the current economic downturn. Basically I feel like I am camping and I do not consider myself homeless, its a sad fact that I have seen entire families living out of a vehicle who are ill equipped and not accustomed to such inconviences.

Last edited by trooper dan; 01-28-2009 at 11:17 PM.

I take my showers on the beach, and I surf quite often. I am very close to getting a job at a campground in the keys (they let you live there for free) even though it is minimum wage it seems to be the most promising option right now.
    Last edited by trooper dan; 01-28-2009 at 11:17 PM.

American by birth, Texan by the grace of God!

Keep your head up and stay proud. You are doing the best you can, and that is all anyone can ask of you. Most of us are 1 missed paycheck away from being in the same shoes as yourself. Beach, surfing, mountain bike, orange groves. Many would envy your living conditions and lifestyle. Keep us updated on your situation.

Good luck with the job. A campground job is better than nothing. Minimum wage and free space for camping should help keep you fed, at least.

I still have my own job. I hope I don't end up in your situation, because like some others you saw, I would have a family with me.